English Español Mary Immaculate
Catholic Church / Pacoima, CA

The Covenant

Fifth Sunday of Lent

We are at the threshold of our Lenten journey as we reach our goal of the Passover of the Lord, our Passover. In the book of Jeremiah we find the appearance of the covenant, though made in another time and era between God and his people in the book of Exodus as expressed in the following words:

  • “I will be your God and you shall be my people”; these words carry meaning way beyond the mere words as shrouded in three ways: “the filial relationship between god and his people, established in the terms of love, in an agape love capable of life as an offering of love for others; this is what God did when He sent his son into the world, who gave himself completely for all human race, because of his love for them.
  • We are exclusive the property of God, our life belongs to him completely, and our faith is completely convinced of this.
  • This requires that we engrave this law of God in our hearts, which is synonymous with living the law of love and in our mutual forgiveness in our daily living. “The hour has come for the Son of Man to be glorified”. These words caused consternation and total loss of consolation among the apostles, bringing sadness in their hearts and without any doubt any understanding of this experience, they continued following him.

Always in our prayers. God bless you.

View Sunday Readings

Saints & Special Observances

Sunday: Fifth Sunday of Lent; Third Scrutiny
Monday: St. Turibius of Mogrovejo
Wednesday: The Annunciation of the Lord
Friday: Abstinence

What is and where does the Via Crucis (Way of the Cross) originate?

The Via Crucis (Way of the Cross) arises from the imitation of the Passion of our Lord Jesus Christ. It was performed by the pilgrims of the Holy Land on the Via Dolorosa in Jerusalem, tracing the Way of the Cross of Jesus. Its origin comes from identification with the suffering of Christ going up to Calvary and died on the cross for all of us sinners and for our salvation. If he did this for us, it’s normal, following the Christian piety, now we do too, even if it just symbolically, united to Him. It seems that the traditional practice of the Via Crucis (Way of the Cross), as we have it today it takes place when the Croats regained possession of the Holy Land in the Middle Ages. The Franciscans, custodians of the Holy Land, shape this practice of piety and promote where are their convents. It consists of 14 stations, which are indicated by a cross on each of them, or by a representative drawing where penitential prayers are performed. The station number 12 which corresponds to the death of Jesus, usually represented with three crosses, just like the Calvary. A recent
ruling of the Holy See supports a 15 station dedicated to the resurrection, to signify the paschal victory of Christ dead and risen.

Parish News

  • We congratulate the members of our parish community that are preparing the Living Stations of the Cross with great responsibility and devotion.
  • No flowers during Lent. No festive songs. Please help us live this time of recollection of penance, and meditation.
  • We invite you to Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament every Friday from 8am to 6pm. We invite and encourage you to spend a few minutes in the company of Jesus.
  • Every day at 5pm we invite you to pray the Holy Rosary for the increase of priestly and religious vocations. We await you in the church.
  • All are invited to participate in the Stations of the Cross every Friday during Lent. The Stations of the Cross will be conducted in English and in Spanish (Bilingual) in the church at 5:00pm. We welcome all to participate and meditate during this time of Lent.